Watching Whales
Watching Whales by Brenda Parkes
 
reviewed on 3/25/2012
The name says it all Geared toward younger folks, even good for them to read. Teaches a lot of easy facts arout Whales. Our kids found it easy to read. It focused on hum back whales
We rated this book as a 4 out of 5: Very good
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Whales
Whales by Seymore Simon
 
reviewed on 3/20/2012
An introduction to whales. We all found the book depressing. It talked a lot about how whales are in trouble, which they are, but this one talked a lot more about it. It didn't give any resolutions for the problem or anything we could do to help. The version we read was written in 1989, so maybe there were not so many solutions back then. There is a more recent version, but we are all pretty tired of reading variations on the same intro to whales book.
We rated this book as a 2 out of 5: We didn't like it
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Dolphin Tale: A Junior Novel
Dolphin Tale: A Junior Novel by Scholastic
 
reviewed on 3/16/2012
A short novel based on the movie.
We rated this book as a 4 out of 5: Very good
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Killer Whales
Killer Whales by Seymore Simon
 
reviewed on 3/16/2012
A level one book This book is a typical book for a young reader. If the child is just learning to read, he/she would find it difficult. Alex and Anne are a little beyond these book, so if it doesn’t give them some new information they get bored. That’s what happened here. It is a fine book and overall, we enjoyed it more than the other Seymour Simon book we read.
We rated this book as a 3 out of 5: OK
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Life Cycles: Oceans
Life Cycles: Oceans by Sean Callery
 
reviewed on 3/16/2012
A book about different life cycles in the ocean. This is not a whale specific book and only has one page on killer whales. This book genereated a lot of discussion. It was our first life cycle book and we throughly enjoyed it. It taught us about food chains and the animals in the food chain. It has good pictures and lot of information.
We rated this book as a 5 out of 5: Excellent!
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Whales: The Gentle Giants
Whales: The Gentle Giants by Joyce Milton
 
reviewed on 3/15/2012
A Step into Reading Step 3 book about whales. For a Step into Reading book, this one is pretty good. It starts with a story that we haven't heard before. It gives basic information.
We rated this book as a 3 out of 5: OK
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Meeting Dolphins: My Adventure in the Sea
Meeting Dolphins: My Adventure in the Sea by Kathleen Dudzinski
 
reviewed on 3/15/2012
Kathleen Dudzinski is a marine biologist who studies dolphin communication in the wild. In this book, she shares her research with us. She also talks about making the Dolphins movie for IMAX theatres. This is the first nonfiction book about dolphins that we really and truly love. We read it after we watched the movie, which we also liked. Alex liked that it was a personal narrative (apparently you have to write a lot of personal narratives in second grade). He also liked the great pictures. Anne liked the pictures too. Kathleen Dudzinski really inspired her. She would love to meet her one day. They both enjoyed learning about some behaviors of dolphins, like how they approach each other when playing vs fighting. We liked how it showed what it was like to be a scientist studying dolphins. It also demonstrated how much more we have to learn.
We rated this book as a 5 out of 5: Excellent!
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Eye Wonder: Whales and Dolphins
Eye Wonder: Whales and Dolphins by DK Publishing
 
reviewed on 3/14/2012
A book about marine mammals. It has many short description about dolphins and whale. Any book that shows whales being captured automatically gets a one star review from our family. Otherwise, this is a pretty good book. It's similar to the Usborne book, but with shorter paragraphs.
We rated this book as a 1 out of 5: We thought it was terrible
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Adelina's Whales
Adelina's Whales by Richard Sobol
 
reviewed on 3/12/2012
A photo essay about the grey whales of La Guna San Ignacio, Baha California, Mexico. You can read this book free online, click on the picture. The book starts on page 486. We want to go to Laguna San Ignacio now! It would be really great to get to interact with a baleen whale! Anne was enchanted with the story. She wants to study cetaceans when she grows up. So she is especially interested in stories of people interacting with whales and thinks it’s a great book. Alex is still on his fact kick, so he thinks the facts in the book are light, but likes the theme about protecting whales.
We rated this book as a 4 out of 5: Very good
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
A First Look at Whales
A First Look at Whales by Millicent E. Selam and Joyce Hunt
 
reviewed on 3/12/2012
A young kids book about whales. It shows different whales and ask the reader identify different types of whales. This book is suitable for young kids just getting to know whales. It tries to engage the children by having them point out different whales. I always think the kids are getting too old for that sort of thing, but they always surprise me by liking it. Alex, ever the scholar, he thought the book was not as accurate is it could be. Anne thought it was good, because it introduced different kinds of whales and helped you to identify them. Although the drawings seemed really old-school, we enjoyed them.
We rated this book as a 3 out of 5: OK
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Big Blue Whale
Big Blue Whale by Nicolla Davies
 
reviewed on 3/11/2012
An introduction to blue whales for young kids. This is a nonfiction book that presents facts about blue whales. It's told like a story, which makes it more fun to read. Alex thought there was not enough information about whale anatomy. Anne liked how it told about the mother giving birth and how the babies feed. No one really cared for the pictures.
We rated this book as a 3 out of 5: OK
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Baby Whales Drink Milk
Baby Whales Drink Milk by Barbara Juster Esbensen
 
reviewed on 3/11/2012
A Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 1 book that discusses Humpback whales. A good beginner book! Gives a lot of easy facts for young kids to follow. The pictures are well drawn. The kids thought it was great for those just starting off with whales.
We rated this book as a 3 out of 5: OK
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Humpback Whales
Humpback Whales by Dorthy Hinshaw Patent
 
reviewed on 3/11/2012
All about the hump back whales. Good information about the Humpback. Nothing too in-depth, but good for younger kids. We liked the photographs. This book is better than the other intro to whale books just because of the awesome pictures.
We rated this book as a 4 out of 5: Very good
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Killer Whale
Killer Whale by Caroline Arnold
 
reviewed on 3/10/2012
A photo essay of killer whales. This is a very informative book about killer whales. It's about the killer whales at Sea World. So most of the pictures are from Sea World, which the kids didn't like as well as the pictures of things in the ocean. It's also a bit of an advertisement for Sea World.
We rated this book as a 4 out of 5: Very good
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a
Whales and Dolphins
Whales and Dolphins
 
reviewed on 3/9/2012
Usborne book
We rated this book as a 3 out of 5: OK
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
Whales
Whales by Gail Gibbons
 
reviewed on 3/9/2012
This is a basic book about whales. It's geared toward young children. It shows drawings of various whales. A good introduction to whales, but if you have already read a few books, this book isn't for you. It is ment for a younger crowd. The sentences are very simple and the drawings are a bit cartoonish.
We rated this book as a 2 out of 5: We didn't like it
Alexander gave it a
Anne gave it a
The parents gave it a

© 2012 Krill Kreations, LLC. All Rights Reserved.